Sunday, February 25, 2024

Hamilton Announces 2023 Literary Award Winners

Last night, the Hamilton Literary Awards celebrated authors and book lovers in a beloved setting- the Hamilton Public Library.

Host Anuja Varghese returned for the second year to facilitate the event, organized by the Hamilton Arts Council to announce the winners of this year’s Hamilton Literary Awards. Varghese is no stranger to literary awards, with her debut short story collection, Chrysalis, being named a recipient of the 2023 Governor General’s Literary Award in Fiction.

The Awards recognized outstanding works published in the calendar year of 2022 across five categories, including: Fiction, Non-Fiction, Poetry, Children’s Books, and the Kerry Schooley Book Award. The Kerry Schooley Book Award honours the book that most vividly evokes the essence of Hamilton and its surrounding areas.

In addition to celebrating local authors and local reads, attendees heard selections from shortlisted authors.

The winning authors for each category are bolded below:



  • David J. Forsyth for Alice and the Machine Gunner
  • Joyce Grant for Can You Believe It? How to Spot Fake News and Find the Facts
  • Rollie Pemberton for Bedroom Rapper: Cadence Weapon on Hip-Hop, Resistance and Surviving the Music Industry
  • Carl Watts for I Just Wrote This Five Minutes Ago


Children’s Book

Kerry Schooley Book Award

Related Articles

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles